DAV Class 6 SST Chapter 6 Notes – India – My Motherland

These DAV Class 6 SST Notes and DAV Class 6 SST Chapter 6 Notes – The Realms of the Earth hold significant importance as study material for students.

India – My Motherland Class 6 DAV Notes

→ India is a vast country with an area of 3.28 million square kilometres. It is the seventh largest country after Russia, Canada, China, USA, Brazil and Australia.

→ Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal and Bhutan together form a distinct geographical unit known as the Indian sub-continent.

→ India has diverse landforms- the lofty mountains, the Great Indian Desert, the Northern Plains, the uneven plateau and the coasts and islands.

→ The country is located in the Northern Hemisphere. The Tropic of Cancer passes through the middle of the country and divides it into almost two equal parts.

DAV Class 6 SST Chapter 6 Notes - India - My Motherland

→ The southern part of India has a peninsular shape. So, the country is called Indian Peninsula. It lies to the south of Asia and occupies central location at the head of the Indian Ocean.

→ Towards the west of India, across the Arabian Sea, lie the Arab countries around the Persian Gulf and the east African countries. Towards the east of India, across the Bay of Bengal, the south-east Asian countries are located.

→ India’s seven neighbouring countries are Pakistan, China, Nepal, Bhutan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Afghanistan. Sri Lanka is separated from India by the Palk Strait.

→ Form south to north, the main land of India extends between 8°4′ N and 37°6′ N latitudes. From west to east, India extends between 68°7′ E and 97°25’ N longitudes.

→ The sun rises in Arunachal Pradesh which is the eastern most point of India. It rises in Gujarat in the west, after about 2 hours.

→ India has selected 82°30′ E longitude as the Standard Meridian of India, and its local time is the Indian Standard Time for the whole country.

→ The climate of India varies from region to region and so does the natural vegetation and soils.

→ India has a diverse physical features-mountains, plains, plateaus, coasts and islands. The Northern mountains in India are the Himalayan mountains which stand on the north of India. The Himalayas are the highest mountains in the world. There are several ranges of mountains. The Karakoram range runs along the northern border of Ladakh. Actually it is the north-western extension of the Himalayas. The K2 peak lies here.

→ The Himalayas are divided into three parallel ranges. The northernmost range is called Himadri or the Greater Himalayas. To the south of Himadri, lies the Himachal or the Middle Himalayan range. The southernmost range of the Himalayas is known as the Shivalik range. The mountains of the north-east region are called Purvanchal or the Eastern Hills.

→ To the south of the Shivalik range, the Great Northern Plains extend from Punjab to Assam. The Northern Plains are divided into three basins on the basis of the three major river systems-the Indus basin, the Ganga basin and the Brahmaputra basin. Human settlements are dense here.

→ In the western part of India lies the Great Indian Desert, also known as the Thar Desert. To the south of the Northern Plains lies the Great Peninsular Plateau. It is triangular in shape. This is a region with numerous hill ranges and valleys. The Western Ghats border the plateau in the west and the Eastern Ghats provide the eastern boundary.

→ To the west of the Western Ghats and the east of the Eastern Ghats lie the Coastal Plains. The Coastal Plains are very fertile and densely populated.

→ The Andaman and Nicobar Islands extending in north-south direction, lie in the Bay of Bengal. The Lakshadweep Islands are located off the coast of Kerala in the Arabian Sea.

→ India is divided into 28 states and 8 union territories. These states have been organised mainly on the basis of languages. Delhi is the national capital.

DAV Class 6 SST Chapter 6 Notes - India - My Motherland

→ Indian sub-continent: India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal and Bhutan together form a distinct geographical unit known as the Indian sub-continent.

→ Indira Point: The southernmost tip of the Indian territory lying in Nicobar Island.

→ Island: A piece of land that is surrounded by water on all sides.

→ Desert: A vast sandy stretch of land.

→ Purvanchal: It refers to the mountains of the north-east region.

→ Delta: A triangular area of land formed at the mouth of a river.

→ Sundarbans: The delta region near the Bay of Bengal.

→ Coral polyps : They are micro-organism attached to the rocks that flourish in shallow and warm water.

→ Estuary : It is a place where river joins sea without depositing sediments at its mouth.

→ Peninsula : A large land surrounded by water from three sides.

→ Strait: It is a narrow passage of water connecting two large water bodies or seas.